Long Way Round

So Jon and I just finished watching the DVD series “Long Way Round”. It was incredible…Charley Boorman and Ewan McGregor, long-time friends from an acting gig long ago, decide they want to ride their “motorbikes” about the world. (And you have to just hear the way they say motorbikes in that great British accent…oh and petrol stations too) Anyway, the DVD series is about 7 or 8 episodes chronicling their preparation and following them around the world beginning in London and ending in New York City.

If you feel like you’re at the end of your Netflix queue or even if you’re not, you have to add this 2 disc show. The guys are just hilarious and the numerous cultures they learn about and people they meet is amazing. Some of my favorite quotes from the movie:

“These are not the bikes you’re looking for. Move along.” -Ewan (joking from his Star Wars days)

“There’s no ‘I’ in team, but as Russ pointed out the other day there is a ‘me’.” -Ewan

Before they left on the trip, they were riding their bikes with their helmets on and a man said to Charley: “Hey, do you know that Ewan McGregor is going around the world on a bike like this”,and Charley turns to Ewan and says: “Stuart, did you know that Ewan McGregor is going around the world on a bike like this!”

Anyway, quotes aside, it’s just a brilliant show with lots of great moments. It’s pumped us up to film our little journey home from Cali in a few weeks as a “Southeast Way Around” or something.

Should we film some of our trip home and edit our own little show???

I think so!!! ;-)

About Bre

I'm a naturally-minded homeschool mom with a knack for acquiring overdue library fees. Follow along for our crazy shenanigans against the mainstream current.

Posted on August 7, 2008, in the everyday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. you should TOTALLY make a video of your trip….that would be awesome. and I did like Angels and Demons…at first I thought it was like the same story as Da Vinci Code, which is kinda is, but still good. I hope the movie turns out better than Da Vinci Code though…I like it, but it was kinda lame compared to the book. Anyways, I just finished Managing Up, it was great, Rosanne Badowski (the lady that wrote it) is like the best admin ever. The others I’m still working on, but they are great so far! When can you guys come over for dinner and Wii playing?

  2. Wow, I’m glad you posted this! I’d never even heard they were doing such a thing. It always seems like a struggle to find quality stuff related to motorcycles. Anyway, I’m going to try and rent it and see if it’s good for myself.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

