Perfect Food?

OK, I think my brain has blown a gasket.  I’ve started reading one of the books on my “reading list” of nutrition and traditional eating and it’s really opening my eyes to some new realities.  Since my wife and I have been buying “raw” milk from our local milk club, I have been excited about it’s benefit. Nourishing Traditions speaks highly of raw milk, and that, of course, sparked something inside. Whenever I read that something is “good for you” but the government (local and national) says it’s “bad for you” or dangerous, I automatically sense a deception, and want to learn more so that I can make up my own mind.

Even before the book begins, there is a quote by Arthur Schopenhauer –

All truth passes through three stages. First, it is ridiculed. Second, it is violently opposed. Third, it is accepted as being self-evident.

The book is titled “The Untold Story of Milk” by Ron Schmid, ND.

This is THE MOST fascinating book I have read in forever. It’s a book with narrative on both history and politics. It covers the scientific and the cultural. But the bottom line?  Raw milk from grass fed cows is one of our planet’s most perfect foods.  And just so you don’t think I’m insane, there are actual Americans that for various reasons have lived entirely on nothing but raw milk from healthy cows and have never been sick.  I would say, they are thriving on it.

So if you are intrigued as I am, go get this book.  And watch this blog as I begin to post more info about the benefits of raw milk. If you are in the Dallas area and are looking for a way to get raw milk straight from the farm, call me so I can explain the law and how to go about getting it. (972) 824-1036. But no matter where you live, I bet you aren’t but an hour or 2 from a certified raw dairy. Visit www.realmilk.com to find one near you.

The irony of the quote above is that before 1930 the truth of raw milk was understood and celebrated. Currently we are in the second stage of truth, the “overwhelming opposition.”  But I feel the third stage coming. I feel a ground swell of hope and demand for raw milk. Let’s make it happen.

Posted on March 15, 2010, in the everyday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Although we lean more towards almond and rice milks, we love us some raw milk, too. : ) Glad to see your post!

  1. Pingback: Nourishing Eats

  2. Pingback: The Raw Milk Cure Experiment « Nourishing Eats

  3. Pingback: Full-fat Dairy for Heart Health « Nourishing Eats

Leave a Reply

