How We Met

Three years ago, on May 20th, Jon and I met for the first time. It’s amazing to sit here with my preggo belly weeks away from meeting our first child that it was only 3 years ago that we met. I feel like I’ve known him my entire life. Isn’t it obvious we were “meant to be” based on our baby photos – same pose and everything. So, anyway, I thought I’d commemorate the occasion by sharing the story God so evidently weaved for us. Here’s my take and his below. Enjoy. :)

Bre’s Take

I (Bre) had visited IBC that Sunday night and met with friends Matt Mungle and Nathan Chandler to discuss our new film group. We stopped by the Alcove room to figure out if that’s where we wanted our group to meet and in walks Jon. After chatting about TV shows for a few minutes, Jon proceeded to pull his Apple MacBook (I know, an Apple fan!) out and shows us a funny British comedy. (I know – an England fan!) I just kind of thought “hmm…this guy’s cute” but didn’t want to let my mind wander too far. Us girls tend to get away with our daydreams at times.

It wasn’t until about 2 months later that Nathan and I were in the Hatch (the IBC green room) and Jon popped off the couch faster than a popcorn kernel, came over, and said hi. Two weeks later, he showed up to The Film Alcove and offered to “drive” me over to the snack machines on the other side of the building. I know, a little random. We kept talking after the movie and I conveniently gave him my card. The email-a-thon began which led to a phone call a week or so later. The first day we hung out, we spent a little over 9 hours together. It was amazing. We spent pretty much every day together after that and I knew by the day we started officially dating (Aug 10th) that this was the man I was going to marry.

As Jon flew to California for two weeks, we began another email-a-thon, video chats, and 8 1/2 hour phone calls. During one of our 8 hour conversations, Jon asked ever so nonchalantly what time of year I had always wanted to get married in. My answer: “Oh…well…I’ve always figured spring or something but, I don’t know, whenever really.” (This was August that he asked me this and I was really thinking, “To you, tomorrow.”  As our conversations continued, the topic of marriage or “the event” kept coming up. Jon would go downstairs every morning to his parents and they’d ask, “What’s the latest today?” One morning was “I think we might get married.” The next: “What are y’all doing in December?” And the next: “So, what are y’all doing December 28th?” They had been praying for Jon to find his bride so they were so excited to hear the news.  We were both overwhelmed and excited by God’s blessing in our lives and continue to marvel at His provisions. There is so much more in store, up’s and down’s and everything in between, and I wouldn’t want to spend it with anyone else. :)

Jon’s Take

I get excited about little things.  That’s part of who I am.  And some of those things are just worth sharing, especially if it will make the other person laugh.  I ran into some friends and a new girl back in May 2007 at my church, and just had to show them a clip of a new British TV show called “The IT Crowd”..  I met Bre that night.  She was very sweet and loved watching a bit of the show on my MacBook.

I didn’t see her again until July 11th.  I intended to start going to the Film Alcove, the group that Bre helped create, but I came an hour late because of work.. I decided to just watch another movie in our music department’s own theater that night..  Right in the middle of it Matt Mungle and Bre walked in the back, and without even thinking, I was out of my seat and heading over to say hi to Bre.  I think I was drawn to her, but didn’t really realize it at the time. Two weeks later, at the Film Alcove, Bre and I ran out to get snacks together and so began the dance. She gave me her card after I told her I would email her a link to all of the IT Crowd, and the flurry of emails began.

A short time later we spent a Sunday hanging out, and just a week later we both knew that we wanted to be together. God was working in  our hearts and minds in a way that was totally surprising, but exciting.  She is the answer to a lifetime of prayers, and even still that answer is a bit mysterious…  :) I could not have planned it out even if I tried.

And so after 3 weeks of dating, we got engaged and just 4 months later, we were married!

It was a crazy but beautiful time…we even poked fun at ourselves (and the craziness of it all) with the song we danced to at our wedding –

Frank Sinatra’s How Little It Matters How Little We Know

“How little we know! How much to discover
What chemical forces flow from lover to lover!
How little we understand what touches off that tingle,
That sudden explosion when two tingles intermingle.

Who cares to define what chemistry this is?
Who cares, with your lips on mine, how ignorant bliss is?
So long as you kiss me, and the world around us shatters,
How little it matters, how little we know.

How little we understand what touches off that tingle,
That sudden explosion when two tingles intermingle.

Who cares to define what chemistry this is?
Who cares, with your lips on mine, how ignorant bliss is?
So long as you kiss me, and the world around us shatters,
How little it matters, how little we know.
How little we know.
How little we know.”

Thank you Lord for this beautiful orchestration and may we honor and glorify You in all that we do. And thank you to our family and friends for your wonderful support and love…especially as we start on this next journey of parenthood.
Much love!
J + B
About Bre

I'm a naturally-minded homeschool mom with a knack for acquiring overdue library fees. Follow along for our crazy shenanigans against the mainstream current.

Posted on May 19, 2010, in faith, lovies, random, the everyday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Precious. And I LOVE the photos! Oh my goodness, Jack is going to be so cute with the combo of you two. Love Jon’s teenage drummer pic too – hilarious! I’m so glad you both were brought together.

  2. courtneyhofmann

    love you guys and love this post!

Leave a Reply

