Healthy and Happy

Not that I have many followers on this blog, but it’s been so busy, I’ve had to simply ignore it for the last while.  Bre and I are within a week or two of having our first baby (Jack Hastin Taylor), and all time and efforts have been toward moving, and preparing for him, and working hard doing the Mac IT thing.

But in the midst of all of this, we’ve continued our best efforts to eat more traditionally. And each time we visit the Birth Center, the midwives and nurses say that Bre is the picture of a perfectly healthy pregnancy.

Now this is mostly God’s grace, but I like to think He’s using our wonderful, nutritious raw milk that we drink daily (almost every meal and snacks).  We’ve also be pounding the “Blue Ice” brand fermented cod live/high vitamin butter oil supplement since before we conceived.  Both of these have massive amounts of Vitamin K, along with D and A.  Add to that some wild salmon, and you’ve got a winning formula to grow a super healthy baby.  Jack is of good size and very active. He’s head down, and about ready to start his journey south.  And Bre is about the healthiest she has ever been. Certainly, her body is ready for the multitude of feedings that are about to start.

All in all, we feel blessed  that we have a great local milk farmer, and an amazing connection with our Co-op Urban Acres to get our hands on the healthiest food around.  Learning to prepare it is a whole other story, but that’s why that call it learning.

GNOWFGLINS is a great resource for proper food preparation. They have some thorough e-courses and an excellent membership-based way to do it all.

I think Jack is going to be one healthy and happy baby.  I hope he learns how to eat traditional foods so that he loves them his whole life.  That would make me a happy father.

Posted on July 10, 2010, in jack, lovies, nourish. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Can’t wait to meet Jack!

  2. Jon — Congratulations on a healthy pregnancy! I’ll be keeping you, your wife, and little Jack in my prayers.

  3. Love the picture!

  4. Buddy Alverson

    Hi Jon,

    I just found your blog, it’s awesome..and seems like an answer to prayer for me right now! :) I’m beginning a walk with God and someone *very* special, to begin to learn to improve my diet..and I’m *definitely* motivated to put better food in my body starting now!

    I look forward to reading through your blog posts!

    -Buddy

    P.S. LOVE the photos of you and Bre (and baby Jack).. :)

    • Thanks buddy. I’m excited for your new walk with God and your decision to start feeding yourself better food. Don’t forget that in our eating, there is also grace, so don’t get discouraged if it takes a while to make changes. We are still making many small changes to our life habits. I hope I can continue to be an encouragement and resource.

Leave a Reply

