Fearless Friday #1

No cars were moving during the taking of this picture. ;-)

Inspired by Rookie Mom’s Fearless Friday challenge, I decided that even though Jack does not like, ok, hates his car seat, we would go on an outing anyway. Jon is usually around in the morning to help hold Jack while I get ready and such but he had to be out of the house by 8:30 which made me not want to get out even more. BUT, I was determined! After seeing Jon off to work, I fed Jack, changed his diaper, dressed him and then it was time for me to get dressed. Hmmm, how do I do this without angering the child that must be held at all times while he’s awake? I proceeded to jump around and do a little ‘isn’t this fun?’ dance as I got dressed while Jack laid on the bed staring at me with a “you crazy ma” look on his face. Although I did feel rather silly, it did make getting dressed more fun and I may just start doing that dance every day whether he’s there or not.

Anyway, I digress. Being the keen obverver that I am, I’ve noticed that when Jon and I take Jack somewhere that there are 2 great windows of content driving opportunities:

  1. soon after he’s fed when he’s cooing and alert but not too soon after being fed as his tummy’s still upset (BUT before he’s tired and fussy and wants to be held) – this is prob a 15 minute window
  2. he’s fast, fast and I mean in a deeeeeep sleep (rarely happens during the day)

I felt like I only had a few minutes left of scenario #1 so I quickly fed the pup, loaded us all up (excluding pup), and Vamanos!

Jack cooed as we backed out of the driveway.

“Yeah? Tell me about it buddy.”

I get further down the street just praying we can make it to the highway which increases the chances of a successful car ride. He’s quiet……..quiet…..I cring just waiting to hear him start screaming but then………………coo….coo….cooo…gooooo….

Relief. He did soooo good! I will admit, he did start crying once we got closer to my friend’s house but it wasn’t nearly as ‘i’m losing it’ as he normally does. Then, on our way home, he slept the whole time in his favorite manly pink salmon-colored swaddle blanket. Overall he is getting so much better and I’m feeling more and more fearless to get out too. One step at a time, right buddy? :)

Much love,

B + j

About Bre

I'm a naturally-minded homeschool mom with a knack for acquiring overdue library fees. Follow along for our crazy shenanigans against the mainstream current.

Posted on October 1, 2010, in discovery, jack, lovies. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Maddy used to scream her head off for a long time when I got in the car and I would get so frustrated, especially when there was no place to stop. So one day she is screaming and Im getting really upset and i look back and her carseat had toppled over. I was so freaked out and I felt so bad about getting so upset. Thankfully it never happened again.

  2. i enjoyed reading this b/c i went through the same thing with my jackson! i can definitely relate! now he does great in the car:)

  3. Way to be fearless! And I love Jack’s salmon colored miracle blanket :) And that last photo – tooooo cute!

  4. I remember the first time I drove alone with the kid in his backseat. He screamed so hard, he choked. *sigh* Memories.

    By the way, thanks for the mention on your website. Love yours!

Leave a Reply

