Short Tank + Small Skirt = Maternity Top

Here’s a super quick tutorial for an empire-waist maternity top (or really, even after maternity time).  I probably could wear this as a dress after pregnancy but, right now, it’s a little too short with the bump so I’ll throw some leggings on underneath. If you have a longer skirt then it could definitely be a dress. I had an old tank top that was too short (even when I’m not pregnant) and a skirt that was too small on the waist but fit me good above the bump. I really hated to throw the top away as I have very few lavender/purple family tops and thought the two might look good together so I went to work.

And, on a fun side note, check out the great giveaway on one of my favorite sites – DIY Maternity. Megan’s giving away the pattern to her new ruched maternity skirt. So adorable! Hope I win! :)

Okay, here we go! Click below for the Tutorial:

1. Try on your tank top and put on skirt at where you’d want it to go above your bump. Mark on w/chalk or pin your tank top along the front and back where the skirt and top meet.

2. Giving yourself some extra material for seam allowance, cut the tank (a 1/2″) below your chalk or pin marks. Do the same (if need be) to your skirt. I wanted to take off some of the waistband so I marked where I wanted the skirt band to be and cut a 1/2″ above that. Sorry these photos aren’t great – was using my iPhone.

3. Now, make sure that the circumference of the bottom of your shirt and the top of your skirt are the same length. My shirt was a little bigger as well as stretchier so I basted a couple inches in the center of the back of the shirt and gathered it.

4. Turn your skirt inside out then pin each side, the middle front, and the middle back of the shirt and skirt so that you can match them up.

5. With the skirt inside out and the shirt right side out, put the shirt inside the skirt and match up the cut-off parts at each pin. I don’t have a picture of this for some reason so hope this makes sense. Sew at a 1/2″ seam allowance. I had to stretch my shirt as I went and was careful to match up my pins as closely as I could (but still have part of my side seam of the skirt a little bit more towards the front than I’d like).

6. Turn inside out and topstitch if you’d like. Then you’re done!

I’ve just started doing tutorials so please let me know if I’m not clear enough. I wish I had taken more photos (and better ones) and will try to do that next time. I just felt like it was such an easy fix that I had to post it!

About Bre

I'm a naturally-minded homeschool mom with a knack for acquiring overdue library fees. Follow along for our crazy shenanigans against the mainstream current.

Posted on July 30, 2011, in sew, tutorial and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. How cute is this?! I never cease to be impressed by your sewing genius.

    And LOVE the new site–looks so great!

  2. BRE! This new blog looks AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!! Seriously love it. So excited for you :)

Leave a Reply

